# ADAMS COUNTY ASSOCIATION OF TOWNSHIP OFFICIALS

Stephanie A. Egger, President Bill McMaster, Vice President

Jean A. Hawbaker, Secretary Donna Dixon, Treasurer

The 93<sup>rd</sup> Convention of the Adams County Association of Township Officials was held on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 at the Southeastern Adams Volunteer Emergency Services (SAVES) with registration and viewing of the vendor displays at 6:00 p.m. President Stephanie Egger welcomed all present at 6:30 p.m. Following the invocation and pledge of allegiance to the flag, dinner was served. Following dinner, the vendors, advertisers and guest were introduced and recognized.

Mr. Bill Chantelau, past President of the Adams County Association of Township Officials was presented with a plaque for his leadership and perseverance and recognized as an honorary lifetime member of the Association.

The theme for this year: "In times of change".

### Rusty Ryan – Adams County Conservation District:

- Chapter 102 (Erosion and Sediment Control)
- > Act 167 Plan Stormwater Status
- Invasive and Noxious Plants

Paul Kellett gave an update on the drug take back program and thanked the COG for their support.

PSATS Board of Directors, Bill Hawk thanked Bill Chantelau for his leadership with the Association.

### **Cory Adams – PSATS Legislative Analyst:**

- 2 Bills of interest: Uniform Construction Code would exempt new one and two family residential dwellings from the requirement to install sprinklers until December 15, 2011 and Firefighters Workers' Compensation would enable a firefighter to claim disability from cancer caused by fire firefighting activity within 600 weeks after leaving service.
- Anti-local government bills have been introduced in the General Assembly that would promote centralized government and make townships unconstitutional.
- Local Government Restructuring
- Boundary Review Commission
- Instead of a redesign of local government, townships need common-sense reforms.
- > Electronic Advertisements
- Bidding Limits

- Extension of Tipping Fees
- Local Government Mandates
- Permit Extension Act
- Severance Tax
- > Transportation Funding
- > State Police Charge
- Right-to-know Law

Bill McMaster introduced the following public officials:

State Senator – Rich Alloway State Representative – Dan Moul State Representative – Will Tallman

Panel discussion with questions were taken from the floor.

## **Association Business:**

The minutes of 2009 minutes were approved as presented, motion carried.

The Treasurer's Report was presented by Donna Dixon, Tyrone Township:

Balance on Hand as of (December 31, 2009)	\$3,004.41
Bills Paid (year-to-date)	1,418.14
Receipts Deposited (year-to-date)	<u>6,146.00</u>
Present Balance	\$7.732.27

There were 18 out of 21 townships who paid their dues to the Association in 2010 = \$900 (Berwick, Latimore and Liberty Townships did not.)

#### **Expenses:**

Association's Spring Conference = \$66.25

Door Prizes: \$300.00

Binding of booklets for Fall Convention = \$982.09

Awards = \$69.80

Expenses: \$1,418.14 Deposits: \$6,146.00

### Bills to be Paid:

Rental of S.A.V.E.S. Social Hall for Fall Convention

The Treasurer's Report was approved as presented, motion carried.

Proposed resolutions: Increase Bidding Requirements and the Prevailing Wage. A motion was made to approve the proposed resolutions and 2<sup>nd</sup>, motion carried.

The Spring Conference is scheduled April 27, 2011 at the Emergency Services Building.

Alicia Birckhead will step down as Programs Chairman.

A volunteer is needed for the Public Relations Committee.

### Officers for 2011:

Stephanie Egger – President Bill McMaster – Vice-President Alicia Birckhead – Treasurer Jean Hawbaker – Secretary

Delegates to the State Convention – Stephanie Egger and Bill McMaster.

Door prizes were awarded.

Having no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 9:55 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jean A. Hawbaker, Secretary