Adams County Association of Township Officials Conference Meeting Minutes November 15, 2023

The 104th Conference of the Adams County Association of Township Officials (ACATO) was held on Wednesday, November 15, 2023 at the Southeastern Adams Volunteer Emergency Services, Inc. (SAVES) Social Hall in Hanover with registration and viewing of the vendor displays at 4:45 PM. There were approximately 115 attendees, 25 vendors with exhibits and 31 advertisers for the booklet. Stephanie Egger, Co-Chair Conference & Programs Committee, provided welcome remarks.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Mr. Wilbur Slothour, Land & Sea Services provided invocation. Buffet dinner served by Company 29 SAVES.

Stephanie Egger, Co- Chair Conference & Programs Committee began door prize awards distribution. She made recognition of military, both active and veterans and honored guests, along with vendors who support out Townships.

Guest speaker James Wheeler, PSATS Environmental Policy Officer provided keynote presentation about legislation affecting townships of the Second Class, association programs and services for townships, and issues of major importance to townships and their residents.

Robert Gordon, Resolution/Legislation Committee Chair, Hamiltonban Township called the meeting to order. He stated John Aldridge, Interim President was not present due to health reasons.

The ACATO Conference Minutes of November 9, 2023 as submitted by Jessica Baim, Temporary ACATO Secretary, Hamilton Township were approved as presented in conference booklet (pages 21-22) by Charlotte Shaffer, Conewago Township and seconded by Bernie Mazer, Mt. Joy Township. Motion carried, unanimously.

The ACATO Treasurers' report prepared by Susan Plank, ACATO Treasurer, Franklin Township was approved as presented by Don Knight, Conewago Township, and seconded (unidentified). Motion carried, unanimously.

Audit Committee Report: None

Robert Gordon, Resolution/Legislation Committee Chair, Hamiltonban Township motioned to nominate by omnibus, Supervisor LouAnn Boyer from Conewago, President; Supervisor Shaun Phiel from Cumberland, Vice-Chair; Nina Garretson from Hamiltonban, Secretary; Susan Plank from Franklin Township, Treasurer; and Carol Bollinger and Stephanie Egger from Union Township as Co-Chairs of Conference & Program Committee, seconded by Coleen Reamer, Hamiltonban Township. Motion carried, unanimously.

Volunteers were asked for. Jennifer Miller, Reading Township nominated Wes Thomason, Reading Township as PSATS Conference Delegate for 2024, seconded by Nancy Stimer, Reading Township. Two additional delegates are needed, but they should not be the Township delegate. The PSATS Annual Conference to be held April 14-17, 2024 at the Hershey Lodge.

Adjournment: With no further business to be discussed, Elwood Albin, Germany Township moved, seconded by Charlotte Shaffer, Conewago Township to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 8:29 PM.

Stephanie Egger, Co-Chair Conference and Program Committee gave closing remarks and members of the Conference and Program Committee distributed the last of the door prizes.

Submitted by,

Nina Garretson Secretary