WEDNESDAY, JULY 10, 2019

The Adams County Board of Commissioners met this date in regularly scheduled session at 9:05 a.m. in the Ceremonial Courtroom with Chairman Randy Phiel presiding. Others in attendance: Commissioners Jim Martin and Marty Karsteter Qually; Molly R. Mudd, Solicitor; Beth Cissel, Deputy Controller; Don Fennimore; Court Administrator; Sherri Clayton-Williams, Planning Director; Bicky Redman, Senior Planner; Melissa Devlin, Finance Director; Phil Swope, Staff Accountant; Dave Salisbury, President of Land Conservancy; Ralph Serpi and Lisa Donohoe, Adams County Community Foundation; John Phillips; News Reporter Vanessa Pellechio, *Gettysburg Times* and Chief Clerk Paula V. Neiman.

Pledge of Allegiance

Minutes:

Mr. Martin moved, seconded by Mr. Qually to approve the Minutes of the July 3, 2019 Commissioners' Meeting as presented.

Motion carried.

Executive Session:

Chairman Phiel noted an Executive Session will be called at the discretion of the Board of Commissioners to discuss attorney client/personnel issues.

Public Comment:

There was no Public Comment addressed to the Board at this time.

Commissioners:

- Mr. Qually moved, seconded by Mr. Martin, to approve and sign two (2) Grants and Communications Agreements between the County of Adams and Adams County Community Foundation, 25 South Fourth Street, Gettysburg, PA for the following:
 - > \$30,000 for the Mercy House Apartments
 - > \$25,000 for the Mercy House Recovery Center

Motion carried.

• Mr. Martin moved, seconded by Mr. Qually, to approve to re-appoint Michael A. Jackman to the Adams County Housing Authority Board of Directors for another 5-year term through August 16, 2024.

Motion carried.

Planning Department:

With recommendation from Sherri Clayton-Williams, Director, Mr. Qually moved, seconded by Mr. Martin, to approve and sign the 2019 Green Space Grant Program Funding Agreements with the Land Conservancy of Adams County for the Acquisition of Agricultural Conservation Easements for the following farms:

- Jeffrey M. Seibert and Deborah A. Seibert, 315 Forest Drive, New Oxford, Hamilton Township, 144.25 acres, \$136,997.50
- Daniel A. Brown, 2450 Fairfield Road, Gettysburg, Highland Township, 153 acres, \$47,000.00

Motion carried.

Department of Elections and Voter Registration:

With recommendation by Director Angie Crouse, and after review by Solicitor Molly Mudd, Mr. Martin moved, seconded by Mr. Qually, that the Board of Commissioners approve and authorize Chairman Randy L. Phiel to sign on behalf of the Board, the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Department of State (DOS) County Application and Agreement for HAVA Grant Funds, wherein Adams County has been awarded Grant Funds in the amount of \$110,077.81 for the purchase of a Voter-Verifiable Paper Ballot system and software certified by DOS to meet state and federal security and accessibility standards. The Grant Agreement Period for expenditure of the funds runs from April 12, 2018 through October 31, 2020.

Motion carried.

Personnel Report:

Mr. Qually moved, seconded by Mr. Martin, to approve the Personnel Report as presented:

Courts:

- Domestic Relations Employment of two (2) Conference Officers: Kristin Reott and Jennifer Shaffer, effective July 22, 2019; Sherri Holmes, Conference Officer, effective May 20, 2019; Melissa Nieves, General Clerk, effective May 20, 2019; and Sherri Piper, Quality Assurance Officer, effective April 29, 2019
- Law Library Employment of Briant Bohleke, Law Librarian, effective April 8, 2019

Employment of the following for the record:

- District Attorney: Sarah E. Jones, Legal Secretary, effective April 22, 2019
- Children & Youth Services: Shaunaca Jones, Caseworker 2, Independent Living, effective July 8, 2019; and Meagen Hartzell from Caseworker 2-Independent Living to Caseworker 2-Intake, effective May 23, 2019
- Controller: Evan Folger, Paid Intern, effective May 13, 2019 through August 16, 2019
- Tax Services: Carl Athey, Field Property Evaluator, effective May 6, 2019
- Solicitor: Sean Mott, Assistant Solicitor, effective April 1, 2019; and Eric McCoy, Assistant County Solicitor, effective August 15, 2019
- Building & Maintenance: Daniel Sentz, 2nd Shift Maintenance Tech II/Custodial Lead, effective April 1, 2019; and Donald Livelsberger, Part Time Mail Carrier, effective April 1, 2019
- IT Department: Promotion of Demitrios Kakaziotis, from Tech 1 to Tech 2, effective April 1, 2019; and Aaron Boyhont, IT Tech 1, effective May 28, 2019
- Security: Richard L. Neeley, Part Time Security Officer, effective April 23, 2019
- Planning/Conservation District: Tyler A. Trostle, Mosquito-Borne Disease Monitor, effective May 13, 2019
- Adams County Adult Correctional Complex: Michele Asper, Business Operations Assistant
 Director, effective June 10, 2019; Corrections Officers, Jacob Wolk, Angela Leavitt, Brooks
 Heflin, Cienna Pierre and Marcus Holder, effective July 22, 2019; Travis Dillman, effective
 June 10, 2019; Samuel Johnson, Alexander Delano; Michael Beamer; Thomas Kramer,
 effective May 6, 2019; and promotion of Darrell Smith from Corrections officer to Captain of
 Operations, effective April 29, 2019

Separation of Employment with permission to post:

- Brandon Hall, Corrections Officer, effective July 22, 2019
- Thomas Kramer, Corrections Officer, effective June 28, 2019
- Brandi Schildt, Corrections Officer, effective July 25, 2019

Motion carried.

Other Business:

No Other Business was brought before the Board at this time.

Executive Session:

Board Chairman Phiel called for an Executive Session at 9:30 a.m. this date to discuss attorney/client and personnel issues.

Meeting Reconvened:

Chairman Phiel reconvened the Commissioner's Meeting at 11:45 a.m. this date with the following in attendance: Commissioners Jim Martin and Marty Karsteter Qually; Solicitor Molly R. Mudd and Chief Clerk Paula Neiman.

Adjournment:

Mr. Qually moved, seconded by Mr. Martin, to adjourn the Commissioner's Meeting at 11:47 p.m. this date.

Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Paula V. Neiman Chief Clerk