#### APPLICATION

Anyone wishing to marry in Pennsylvania MUST OBTAIN A PA MARRIAGE LICENSE.

Applicants will submit the application online by downloading the free "Adams County Clerk of Courts" mobile app or by going to www.adamscountypa.gov; County Government; Clerk of Orphans' Court, Marriage Services.

After completing the application, applicants must upload their government issued photo ID and Certified Copies of their Divorce Decree and/or Death Certificate (if applies).

Next, applicants will schedule their video appointment via our mobile app or website. BOTH applicants MUST APPEAR together by video to complete the remainder of the marriage license application process.

Applicants will receive e-notification regarding payment.

Once the application is complete, the marriage license will become valid after the three-day (3) waiting period. The license is valid for sixty (60) days.

Birth Certificates are required only when applicants have none of the above.

All ID's must be in English or be accompanied by a certified English translation.

Applicants must provide a Social Security number (federal & state mandates for US citizens). If you lost your card, you must contact the Social Security Office for WRITTEN verification.

#### **REQUIREMENTS**

All applicants <u>must be 18 years of age</u> to obtain a marriage license.

Be prepared to provide the full name, mailing address, occupation, and birthplace of each parent

Pennsylvania does NOT require premarital blood testing or physical examinations.

#### WHERE TO APPLY

APPLICANTS MAY APPLY IN ANY COUNTY WITHIN PENNSYLVANIA AND USE THE LICENSE IN ANY COUNTY IN PENNSYLVANIA.

Contact the county where you plan to apply for application instructions.

Video appointments occur ONLY between 8:30 AM and 3:45 PM, Monday through Friday except holidays.

### WHEN TO APPLY

Application must be made within 60 days of the wedding date

Marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from date of issuance and may be used anywhere in PA.

PA law requires a minimum 3-day waiting period after application is made before the license can be issued.

#### WHO MAY NOT MARRY

Persons related by blood as first cousins or closer may not marry in PA. Other prohibitions and policies are available in the Clerk of Courts Office.

#### **REMARRIAGES**

Applicants who have previously married <u>MUST</u> <u>HAVE</u>:

1. **CERTIFIED copy of death certificate** (if widowed)

#### OR:

2. CERTIFIED copy of Divorce Decree <u>dated</u> more than 30 days prior to application date. \*

\*If applicant is divorced and has changed their name, they <u>must have documentation</u> of same.

Applicant must obtain a <u>CERTIFIED</u> copy of the decree (with a court seal). <u>Photocopies are NOT acceptable.</u>

Foreign divorce Decrees MUST HAVE a CERTIFIED ENGLISH TRANSLATION attached.

3. Civil annulments require same documentation as divorces. (Church annulments are NOT accepted)

## **FEES**

Marriage license application is \$83.00 payable by cash, check, or credit card and includes a certified copy of the license. Payment is required by 8:15 a.m. the day of video appointment. There is a \$39.00 return check fee if the bank returns the check or credit card payment for any reason.

Certifications of Marriage will be mailed within 5 days after receipt of marriage license return. Additional copies can be obtained Online by going to www.adamscountypa.gov.

Application fee is non-refundable.

Waiver of three (3) day waiting period is \$5.00 (not included in \$83.00) Please contact Court Administration for Waiver at 717-337-9846.

### **OUT-OF-STATE MARRIAGES**

Anyone wishing to marry outside Pennsylvania must contact that state, territory, country, etc., directly. Legal requirements of that jurisdiction apply.

## **QUESTIONS**

Applicants may call the Clerk of Courts Office at 717-337-9806.

# PREMARITAL CHECKLIST

## **DO YOU HAVE THE FOLLOWING?**

**VALID** identification (Any 1 of these)

- Photo driver's license
- State PennDot photo ID card
- Certified birth certificate
- Active military ID

# \_\_ Social Security NUMBER

- Payment for license fee (must be paid before 8:15am the day of video appointment or your video must be rescheduled)
- <u>Certified</u> Divorce <u>Decrees</u> (if applicable)
- \_\_\_\_ Certified Name Change (if applicable)
- <u>Certified</u> Death Certificate (if applicable)
- Full name, address, occupation, birthplace of each parent (regardless of age)

# **PLANNING**

**TO** 

MARRY?



## KELLY A. LAWVER

Adams County
Clerk of Court & Clerk of Orphans'
Court

717-337-9806

**Application hours 8:30 AM to 3:45 PM**